Graduation

Applying for Graduation

The Graduate Division of the School of Arts and Sciences oversees the review of all non-professional doctoral dissertations and Master's theses for the University. Consequently, degree candidates not just in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, but for all academic graduate degrees in all nine of the university's graduate schools must apply to this office when planning to graduate in any given term. 

For more information: https://www.sas.upenn.edu/graduate-division/resources/graduation-and-beyond

Graduation Calendar

Revised May 20, 2020

For PhD, AM, MS, and professional degrees in SAS and SEAS

August 2020

GAS begins accepting dissertations Thursday, June 4.

Action Date
Sign up April 28 through July 6
Late Sign‐up1 July 7 - July 13
Defend by July 20
Deposit by August 3
Degree Awarded August 7

December 2020

GAS begins accepting dissertations Monday, September 14.

Action Date
Sign up July 14 through November 16
Late Sign‐up1 November 17-23
Defend by Friday, October 9 & deposit by Monday, November 9 for fall tuition waiver
Defend by November 23
Deposit by December 7
Degree Awarded December 22

May 2021

GAS begins accepting dissertations Wednesday, January 13.

Action Date
Sign up November 24 through April 19
Defend by Friday, February 19 & deposit by Friday, March 22 for spring tuition waiver
Late Sign‐up1 April 20-26
Defend by April 26
Deposit by May 3
Degree Awarded May 17

August 2021

GAS begins accepting dissertations Thursday, June 3

Action Date
Sign up April 27 through July 5
Late Sign-Up1 July 6-12
Defend by July 19
Deposit by August 2
Degree Awarded August 6

December 2021

GAS begins accepting dissertations Monday, September 13.

Action Date
Sign up July 13 through November 15
Defend by Friday, October 8 & deposit by Monday, November 8 for fall tuition waiver
Late Sign-Up1 November 16-22
Defend by November 22
Deposit by December 6
Degree Awarded December 22

May 2022

GAS begins accepting dissertations Wednesday, January 12.

Action Date
Sign up November 23 through April 18
Defend by Friday, February 18 & deposit by Friday, March 21 for spring tuition waiver
Late Sign-Up1 April 19-25
Defend by April 25
Deposit by May 2
Degree Awarded May 16

August 2022

GAS begins accepting dissertations Thursday, June 2

Action Date
Sign up April 26 through July 4
Late Sign-Up1 July 5-11
Defend by July 18
Deposit by August 1
Degree Awarded August 5

December 2022

GAS begins accepting dissertations Monday, September 12.

Action Date
Sign up July 12 through November 21
Defend by Friday, October 14 and deposit by Monday, November 14 for fall tuition waiver
Late Sign‐up1 November 12-28
Defend by November 28
Deposit by December 5
Degree Awarded TBA